top of page

Brittany Dorbin


The Meet the media trip for London and Paris was an exciting experience. The trip has given me a different outlook of how different countries function as a whole. I discovered how awesome of a person I am and except and embrace my cultivate sense of direction in life. During this trip I branched out of my shell and blossomed in media. I was blown away of how much knowledge these countries have of America. It made me want to seek knowledge and study diversity among cultures and countries. I gained knowledge on how diverse media can enhance mass participation and viewers. I gained international business contacts and friends. In the future I look forward to branching my media talent in the UK.

However, studying abroad with a diverse group should be a requirement. My abroad experience was tainted by racism, sexism, and classism. I experienced from my fellow SFA group members. I often felt unsafe around my own peers. I expected more from the group as a whole. As a group we all have different preferences, hobbies, gender , and ethnicities. However, that shouldn’t be the reason for division in a study abroad program. It was hard to believe we couldn’t stick together for the sake of us being U.S citizens. I experienced better treatment from citizen in Paris and London rather than my own peers. This was quite the disappointment, but I still gained education value from the program.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page