top of page

Lyndsey Dickerson


During this trip, I’ve learned a lot about Mass Communications, but I feel like I’ve learned even more about life and the person I want to be.

We visited several public relations businesses, photography businesses, film and radio businesses, and each one taught me something I didn’t know. I learned how to be successful in my field. I learned that obstacles come to everyone, and the only way to survive is to get up and keep going. I learned it’s okay to try another job, and another, and another until I find the right fit.

London was definitely my favorite of the two cities because I felt more in control there. Within a few days, I had the underground system down and a visual map of London in my head to get anywhere I needed to go. I feel like my group’s independence from the entire group made it easier to make the city our own. Paris was great also, but it was more hectic, not to mention the language barrier.

I also learned what kind of person I want to be. I met so many kind people on this trip that go against the stereotype of “mean Londoners,” or “snobby Parisians.” The truth is, I think most people are going to be nice to you as long as you’re nice to them. However, there’s always going to be someone who’s never satisfied. No place is ever good enough, and nobody’s actions ever meet expectations. They’ll say awful things, and pick on people for no reason, and they’ll be angry the whole time. That’s not the kind of person I want to be.

I look forward to visiting both London and Paris again sometime in the future, and each time I travel, I’ll be keeping an open mind throughout my visit. You never know when you’ll be making an impression on somebody, and I’d rather mine be positive than negative.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page