top of page

Emma Gregerson


This trip was an experience to say the least. I learned a lot about myself not only about who I am now or who I was while on this trip, but I learned about the kind of person I aspire to be more like as I move towards my future beyond SFA, and I learned exactly how I do not want to be after I cross that stage in May. This trip made me feel in charge of my own future and for the first time I saw that life is not about following a path that has been laid for me but instead looking at the paths that have been laid by those who have come before me and then laying my own path besides theirs. Having this trip in my rearview mirror now I discovered that my life up until this point has been dictated by adults who view me as less then themselves. I now know that my life will never be dictated by anyone but myself.

This trip has moments of immense lows and highs. My lows included being talked down to, having opportunities taken from me, and seeing individuals being completely oblivious to how ignorant their comments truly were. I was witness to sexism, racism, and monetary prejudice. Even with all of these low points my trips lows were outweighed by all of the highs, the most important high being my fellow classmates, Kasey, Evie, Lyndsey, Amanda, and Brittney, who will forever hold a special place in my heart. Even at the face of controversy these girls stood by my side and we stood with each other and can proudly say that we now conquered Europe together.

The most educational part of the trip for me was not at a buisness meeting at all but our entire time we spent in Paris. I went into this trip thinking that Paris is the place I needed to live post graduation and this trip would be the deciding factor for that. I have never felt like I belonged anywhere in my life more then I felt like I belonged in Paris. I spoke the language, I talked to strangers on the street, I ate the best food of my life, and I saw things that I never imagined I would get to see anywhere but on my laptop.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page